Perspective

dizzy_glassesI have two toddlers at home: a 20 month old and a 3-year old. Last night they both decided it was time to get up around 1am. (I really thought we were over the late night/early morning wake up calls.) When they first cried, I laid there hoping they would go back to sleep. This was not one of those nights. I tried laying in the room with them but they still didn’t go to sleep. Finally, dad had to come to the rescue. We tagged team around 2am and I went to sleep. He told me in the morning that they ate oatmeal and played. Ate oatmeal and played??? Really? He got in bed around 4am. The 3-year old wakes up and comes in the room at 7am smiling and rested. Meanwhile, I had to drag myself out of bed and get it together. As I was brushing my teeth, I caught a glimpse of myself  in the mirror with giant bags under my watery eyes. My husband said to me I looked beautiful. HUH? He had to be joking. He was not looking at me for real. As I was about to open my mouth and tell him about the bags under my watery eyes, he stopped me by saying, “at least you have eyes and can see.” Oh my damn! That shut me right up! He was right and I told him so. Usually, I’m the one around here giving pep talks and positive speeches, but this morning he was giving me one.

It is so easy for our first inclination to be something negative. Of course, I was tired and I wasn’t looking my best and that contributed to me feeling less than positive. When he told me I was beautiful, I felt I had to explain why I wasn’t. (When I type these things, it sounds so crazy but, in the moment it makes perfect sense.) Who cares that I was looking less than optimal? Plus, he knew why! He brought everything to perspective when he told me I was beautiful and said I should be grateful that I even have eyes and could see.

A lot of times, we feel that we have to explain ourselves when an explanation is not even necessary. When I was in a modeling pageant in the early ’90s the one thing I will always remember is the coach telling us “don’t ever point out your flaws to others. No one even notices until you point them out!” HA! That is so true. We have to remember to hold ourselves up to a high standard and keep our self esteem up as well. Even if we don’t feel it, we need to act it. At the very least, don’t go pointing out all of your flaws or give reasons why you shouldn’t receive accolades! Doesn’t that just sound counter-productive? So, today practice taking compliments graciously and don’t dismiss yourself. It’s all about perspective. Keep yours positive!

Tell me about a time when you’ve had to take things into perspective and realize you were more blessed than you thought? Share with others, you never know who needs this message.

-CB

Image courtesy of winnond/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
2 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. This is so true. Im normally positive and encourage others to be, but I have found myself pointing out my flaws and trying to explain. We have plenty to be thankful for.

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Posts | The Candibee Experiment

Leave a Reply

