New Orleans

grilled-shrimpThe family will be headed to New Orleans this summer and I am so looking forward to it! Prior to marriage and the children, I would travel worldwide. My goal is to travel to all of the countries before I die. After marriage and before the children, my husband and I would travel statewide and throughout the Caribbean islands. After children, our trips consist of once a year family reunions. My, how my travels have declined! Last year, our family reunion was a cruise to the Bahamas and I was the organizer and travel agent for it! That was semi-stressful, but the trip was a success. That was the first cruise I had been on where I did not get a chance to fully enjoy the ship. Do you want to know why? We had a 2 year old and a 10 month old, both in diapers and one still on formula! We had a double stroller, bottles, formula, baby food, diapers, toys, extra clothes, combined with our own luggage and family reunion stuff. Well, now they will be 3 and 22 months and they are both eating regular food and one is potty trained. That makes a huge difference.

Back to New Orleans. I’ve only been once, but I thoroughly enjoyed myself. My birthday is in February around Mardi Gras so my husband took me there for my birthday. It was so much fun. When I travel I like to experience all that the city has to offer. With my husband and I being foodies, we also love to make sure we try any recommended/popular restaurants, especially those we saw on any of the shows we watch on the Travel Channel or Food Network. We were there from a Thursday – Sunday so our days were jam packed. We did several Mardi Gras parades, experienced the French Quarter at night (I really enjoyed the Preservation Hall), and went to countless restaurants/shops — Acme Oyster House, Landry’s, Pat O’Briens, Cafe du Monde, Deanies Seafood, Mother’s, The Cigar Factory,  Southern Candymakers and I’m sure I left something off. We rode the trolley car to a cemetery and explored their famous above ground cemeteries, went to a Tabasco store and stocked up on spicy goodness and even saw a street performance on Jackson Square.

This year, we won’t be able to do as much because we are going for a family reunion so we already have an agenda, but during the down time and extra day we’re going, I need to make sure that I get to experience what I missed before. Mardi Gras World is already on the family reunion tour, so we’ll definitely be experiencing that. The last time we went, Central Grocery — home to the original Muffaletta sandwiches — was closed so I’ll have to try to get there. The other place I have to go by is Dooky Chase restaurant. An ex-coworker also recommended The Ruby Slipper and Katies. I would also like to get a nice piece of art, something that would make a nice souvenir of my trip that signifies the essence of New Orleans.

Do you have any suggestions? Please let me know of really good places to eat and shop! I’d love to hear from you!

-CB

Image courtesy of rakratchada torsap/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
4 thoughts on “New Orleans

  1. I have a bucket list of places that I want to go before I die. Paris, Italy, Rome, Switzerland, Grand Canyon (yeah right after all the International places). Hopefully we can make some of these happen BUT REALLY WANT TO DO AFRICA REALLLLLLLL BAD! 🙂

    • I have those places on my list too…I’ll probably see Grand Canyon next year. You will be able to travel to all of the places on your list. First, reword your sentence to take “hopefully we can” out and add “We will…”. 🙂

  2. Soror – Enjoy New Orleans! I don’t have specific suggestions since it’s been a few years since I’ve been there. But I love that place – there is so much history and culture there that is so different from the rest of the United States. Please have a hurricane and a beignet for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

