What’s Filling Your Head?

I used to listen to rap music. I grew up when it first started and I was in high school/college during it’s heyday so it’s near and dear to me. People thought it was a fad and now Hip Hop is it’s own culture. I applaud the creativity that used to go into it along with the “in your face” attitude and their non-apologetic demeanor for growing up in the ‘hood. I even remember when it started to get really controversial with NWA. As I got older, I would placate myself by saying that I’m not really listening to the words, I just like the beat. Well now I can’t even say that.

ID-10071557In my quest to be the best ME that I can be, I realize that even innocent radio listening can get in the way. Now before you think I’ve gone off the deep end, hear me out. It’s not easy to follow your dreams by faith. I know in my heart (soul) that it’s true, but my head (ego) keeps getting in the way. (My ego is actually quite loud.) I need all the motivation and subconscious programming I can get. And today’s rap music will not help me meet my goals.

According to the Bible, Hebrews 11:1, “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen”. True, there are believers out there — I’m one — but when it comes to actually taking that leap, people still let their doubts creep in. Doubt stops them from truly taking action and fear keeps them in their stagnant place. So, what does this have to do with rap music? It’s hard enough to stay motivated and encouraged with the intentional subconscious programming of my mind with affirmations, meditating, praying for guidance and direction, reading and listening to inspirational works and keeping my ego at bay. I’m certain that with this continued practice, it won’t be so hard. On the contrary, when I listen to rap music I feel like I’m going in the opposite direction. I feel like I wasted 3 minutes and could have used those 3 minutes instead to listen to something more productive. Now, don’t get it twisted. I still listen to the radio and such, but with the rap lyrics of today, it just brings about an energy that I don’t want to associate with. It’s not positive energy so it adds no value to my life. I actually feel like it’s taking away some of my positive energy.

I already know that all rap isn’t negative. I grew up when it began, remember? I love The Roots and there will always be space in my iPod for them. But artists like The Roots don’t get heavy rotation on the radio. Now that I think about it, they don’t get any rotation on the radio. At least not in the South. I’m sure Philly has them on heavy rotation. Part of the problem is that mainstream radio only plays a select few songs that are considered “hot” right now and they always seem to be songs that I wouldn’t want my children listening to. And these same songs are rotating every hour. Is that not subliminal mind programming? When I found myself singing lyrics to a song that I hated, I knew that’s where it came from — subliminal mind programming from listening to the radio.  So why add this to my mind (which is already working overtime to process this new experiment) and confuse it with that negative energy? I just really need to stay encouraged and motivated and I found that by immersing myself in all things positive, it helps me to stay in that energy.

What is filling your head?

My motivational bracelet purchased from http://www.quellyruedesigns.com

My motivational bracelet purchased from http://www.quellyruedesigns.com

-CB

Image courtesy of Mr. Lightman/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
4 thoughts on “What’s Filling Your Head?

  1. Ha! I used to say the same thing and still try to. “I just like the song because of the beat”. I’ve been slowly moving away from rap because I know better. The words do get into your head and I definitely don’t want my kids to be influenced by it.

  2. You are so right about the things we listen to. If we really want to get rid of the negativity that invades our thoughts, we need to really be mindful of where all of those negative messages come from, because sometimes they are subliminal and we don’t even realize how much they are permeating our thoughts!

Leave a Reply

