Detox Food & Meals

To make sure that I have the right foods at home for my detox, I went shopping for plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. One valuable tip I will give you when shopping for fresh produce is to buy what’s on sale and plan your menus around that! Super H-Mart sent me some coupons and I used all of the fruit and veggie ones.

Here are the coupons:

IMG_20130606_090843_655

Here is the haul:

IMG_20130606_180935_584

Clockwise from top: 2 bunches of spinach, 2 packs of king oyster mushrooms, 1 canteloupe, 2 bunches of asparagus, 2 avocados, 6 broccoli crowns and 5 bok choy stalks. They didn’t have any peaches when I went, but when I went back another day, I got almost 4 lbs for $3.

Before coupons, the total was $19, which is excellent. This food should last me at  least 7-10 days, if not longer. After coupons….drumroll please…$8!!! Yes, I said $8! SCORE!!! Can you imagine an $8 grocery bill for food that lasts 1-2 weeks? Yes, it is just for me, but still. Cutting out meat has it’s advantages already. LOL.

Some staples that I add and always keep in the house: Onions, bell peppers (I love these sauteed together on anything), lettuce, tomatoes, brown rice, quinoa, couscous, whole wheat pasta, tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes, dried beans (black, pinto, kidney, garbanzo), plain oatmeal (my kids eat this by the pound-ful), whole wheat tortillas, vegan cheese, TVP or soy crumbles and sometimes I’ll buy some “fake” meat…the meat substitutes that vegetarians and vegans eat. Even all of that shouldn’t run you more than $30.  If you are interested in trying out some vegetarian meat or dairy substitutes, let me help you cut to the chase with some of the brands that taste  good.

Daiya cheese – If you want a cheese alternative, this is the best option I’ve found so far. It tastes the most like cheese and it also melts!

Gardein meatless products – Everything that I’ve tried tasted really good. So good, that my husband and children ate it and wanted more. I’ve had the Mandarin Orange Chick’n, Classic Style Buffalo Wings, and Chick’n Scallopini. I will be trying more.

Amy’s Organics – Everything she makes isn’t vegetarian or vegan, sometimes it’s an organic meat product but this brand is good.

Tofutti – I’ve only had the Better Than Cream Cheese and Tofutti Cuties, but they make a lot of other items that I’ll try.

So, if you are interested in transitioning to a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle or if you just want to incorporate healthier options each day, I hope this helps. There is no reason to break the bank to eat healthy. The key is 1) buy on sale and 2) plan menus around your sale items.

I will be posting recipes and pictures of items I’ve made that I think you’ll enjoy. It will also help you realize that it doesn’t have to be just salads, beans and rice and oatmeal!

-CB

Leave a Reply

