Detox Progress

It’s day 3 and so far so good! I wanted to share with you all the food I’ve been eating to give you ideas should you decide to do something similar. Even if you just want to incorporate a few healthier options into your meal planning, this will help! I won’t post pictures of all the food because some of it is just boring looking like smoothies and oatmeal.

MONDAY

Breakfast
I made a smoothie. It was made up of blueberries, peaches, strawberries and pineapples with some brown rice protein powder and Vitamineral Green powder.  It was tasty, but not pretty. I’m sure the green powder and protein powder were the culprits. [Budget tip: I keep frozen fruit in the freezer for things like this.]

Lunch
I made a mushroom soup with vegetable broth, onions, baby portabellos I had in the fridge and those king oyster mushrooms I purchased from Super H Mart. You can use white button mushrooms instead or in addition to. For flavoring, I added this spicy garlic mix and stirred in chopped cilantro when done.

IMG_1450

Mushroom Soup Ingredients

Mushroom Soup

Mushroom Soup

Dinner

Quinoa with spinach, peppers and onions. I used the other half of the vegetable broth from lunch in place of water to make the quinoa. This quinoa is a “southern blend” that contains carrots, red peppers and other spices. The first time I had it, it was OK. Cooking it in vegetable broth made a world of difference. Separately, I sauteed the onions and peppers in olive oil and added the spinach just until wilted. Then I mixed the veggies into the quinoa. It was really good!  [Budget Tip: For “fancy” foods, like this quinoa mixture, peruse the food isles at TJ Maxx and Marshalls. They carry gourmet foods with cheaper prices than you would find at Williams Sonoma or other gourmet food stores.]

Quinoa Ingredients

Quinoa Ingredients

Quinoa with Spinach, Peppers and Onions

Quinoa with Spinach, Peppers and Onions

 

TUESDAY

I didn’t eat breakfast. Not intentionally, but by the time I got back to the house after dropping the boys off at school, running errands and working out, it was lunch time. I ate the leftover Quinoa from dinner the night before. For dinner, I just ate a veggie sandwich which was really a salad I made, added olive oil, red wine vinegar and oregano, tossed it up and then put it in one of those pocket breads. I cut it in half and stuffed my salad mixture in it and ate it. It was really tasty! I didn’t take a picture of that, but I will next time. [Budget Tip: Make your way to a farmers market for fresh fruits and veggies. If there is an Aldi grocery store near you, buy whatever fruit and veggies they have on sale. It is always cheaper then your regular grocery store.]

WEDNESDAY

Today, I ate oatmeal for breakfast with unsweetened applesauce, mashed bananas, cinnamon and garam masala added to it. Garam masala is an Indian spice that is like cinnamon/nutmeg/allspice with a kick. I got it at DeKalb Farmers Market for $0.59. That’s the great thing about DeKalb Farmers Market. You can get spices for cents because they are in bulk. And because they are an international market they have every, single, ethnicity/culture of food represented.

If you are not used to not eating sugar, it will still be pretty bland for you. But, if you are used to not eating a lot of sugar you will find that the applesauce and banana adds it’s own sweetness. If you aren’t doing the detox but are trying to get away from those instant oatmeal packets, when making plain oatmeal just add a little agave nectar or raw sugar to taste. Did you know that those little oatmeal packets contain 12 grams of sugar? That’s 12 teaspoons. Imagine adding 12 teaspooons to about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. That’s a lot of sugar! [Budget Tip: Buy plain oatmeal in the large container and add to it yourself. It’s cheaper and healthier. Find places where you can purchase spices in bulk so you don’t have to spend a lot of money on spices you may not use often.]

Lunch
Veggie pizza made with a whole wheat tortilla, tomato sauce, black olives, onion, tomatoes, marinated artichoke hearts (no added sugar in this brand), and yellow bell pepper. I bought pita bread to use but had this tortilla left over in the fridge that needed to be used. The tortilla worked fine, but I think the pita bread will be sturdier and more flavorful. I didn’t use any soy cheese because I didn’t have any and it was actually very tasty. I was actually able to taste the flavors of all the ingredients and not just cheese, which is usually the case when I eat pizza.

Vegan Pizza on Whole Wheat Tortilla

Vegan Pizza on Whole Wheat Tortilla

Dinner

Orange “Beef” and Broccoli over brown rice. I purchased a beef substitute with a $1 off coupon I had for Gardein products. I already had a bunch of broccoli from my Super H Mart haul over the weekend. The tricky part was making the sauce without added sugar. I found a tasty recipe with very little sugar in it and tried to eliminate it but when I tasted it, it was way too tart. I had to go ahead and add something so I added 1 TB and 1 tsp of raw sugar. That made a tremendous difference. Also, cornstarch was used as a thickener. Technically, it would be a white carb, but I let this one slide. So, I had a wee bit of sugar and wee bit of white carbs today. 🙂 I didn’t have rice wine vinegar so I used white wine vinegar and I also didn’t add the spicy component. It came out excellent. Meat eating hubby had 2 servings.

Orange "Beef" & Broccoli Ingredients

Orange “Beef” & Broccoli Ingredients

Orange "Beef" and Broccoli

Orange “Beef” and Broccoli

-CB

2 thoughts on “Detox Progress

Leave a comment