My Travels

travel-img

I just decided to post today about some of my trips that I’ve taken over my lifetime. I LOVE TRAVELING! It is my goal to one day start a non-profit foundation that will take underprivileged children on trips to expose them to the world. When people are exposed to other cultures, their mind is expanded. This applies to not only children, but adults as well. You don’t even have to travel the world for this exposure. There are vastly different ways of living in the United States alone.

Forefront: Yerba Buena Island (YBI), to the right attached to it is Treasure Island. In the far left at top is San Francisco. To the far right at the top is the Golden Gate Bridge and the small island in the middle of the water is Alcatraz.

Forefront: Yerba Buena Island (YBI), to the right attached to it is Treasure Island. In the far left at top is San Francisco. To the far right at the top is the Golden Gate Bridge and the small island in the middle of the water is Alcatraz.

My dad was in the navy so I’ve been traveling since I was 4 years old. Home is Atlanta, GA, but we were mostly on the West Coast throughout my childhood. California is a world away from Georgia, in terms of people and cultures, and Washington State is different from both of them. We lived in San Diego, CA; Concord, CA; and Yerba Buena Island which is connected to Treasure Island.  This is the real Treasure Island in the San Francisco Bay — that was cool because our home was perched high on the island so we had the perfect view of the Oakland Bay Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and San Francisco.

We also lived in Bremerton, Washington which is right across the water from Seattle. We would ride the  ferry to Seattle on occasions. We were also stationed in Athens, GA. Right after my parents got divorced my dad got stationed in Japan. I hate that I missed that experience. I had a friend who seemed to be stationed everywhere we went and she went to Japan. I remember her coming back with Hello Kitty and this was back in the late 70’s/early 80’s. I see Kitty came back with a vengeance. Trends are funny like that, I guess.

As an adult, I’ve been to the following:

Within the U.S.

California: Los Angeles
Texas: Houston
Louisiana: New Orleans
Nevada: Las Vegas
Illinois: Chicago
Michigan: Detroit
Ohio: Akron, Canton
New York: New York City
Pennsylvania: Philadelphia
DC
Virginia: Norfolk, Va Beach
South Carolina: Charleston, Columbia, Orangeburg,  Hilton Head, Myrtle Beach
Georgia: Savannah, N. Ga. Mountains (Smoky Mountains)
Tennessee: Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Memphis, Nashville
Florida: Destin, Ft. Myers, Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Naples, Orlando, Port Canaveral, and Key West.

Outside of the U.S.

Puerto Rico
Bahamas
Barbados
Antigua
St. Thomas
St. John
St. Lucia
St. Kitts
St. Maarten/St. Martin
Jamaica
Mexico
Cayman Islands
Aruba
Curacao
London
Barcelona
Madrid
Malaga
Morocco
Amsterdam

My favorite of all of the places would be Amsterdam and St. Thomas. Amsterdam was nothing that I imagined. We all know about the legal marijuana in Amsterdam and coming from the United States, where ever there are “drugs” there is crime and seediness. Well, that was so far from the truth it wasn’t even funny. (This is exactly what I mean about expanding your mind through travel). The food was very good and multicultural, everyone had a cool, laid back attitude and even the Red Light district was harmless. I would say it was equivalent to an upscale area in a major city in the U.S. There was low crime, plenty of amenities and lots to do. It’s also the home of Heineken, Haagen Dazs, and Tulips. My other favorite place to visit is St. Thomas. They have shopping, food, activities, beaches, everything.

I’ve been blessed to have been able to do as much traveling as I have. I have so many more places that I will get to. My dream trip is a culinary tour in Italy. They have culinary trips where you can learn how to make Italian dishes on the countryside in Tuscany, as an example. This is awesome. I can see myself on the hills in Tuscany at a villa learning how to cook using the finest olive oil and freshly made tomato sauce and other fresh produce from local gardeners while drinking the wine from the local vineyards.

I still need to visit Boston, Paris, Cannes, Venice, Rome, Sicily, Greece, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, Rio, Argentina, S. Africa, Ghana, Kenya, Egypt, Australia, Japan, China, Tahiti, India, Galapagos Islands, Hawaii, Alaska, Canada and even Russia. I want to see it ALL. I love it, I love it, I love it!

Where do you want to visit and what has been was your favorite trip so far?

-CB

World icons image courtesy of potowizard/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
YBI image courtesy of freerepublic.com
Leave a Reply

