Age Ain’t Nothin’ But a Number

I’m watching one of the Real Housewives reality shows and they are talking, or rather stressing out, about their age and weight…normal women stuff. Now while we want to keep our weight under control for health reasons, I don’t get the whole stressing out thing about your age. I don’t get why women are so scared to tell their age. Is it because they look that much older? Someone please explain this concept to me.

Me, at 43, excited about the future.

Me, at 43, excited about the future.

Women are under so much pressure to remain “young”, but men have no such expectations. There is nothing wrong with remaining “youthful” in your thought processes, energy levels, and embracing new ideas, but to try to relive an age you are clearly not is ridiculous and time consuming.

I am 43 years old. There, I said it! I remember when 30 was considered old (I was a teenager). I, for one, would never want to relive my teen years or 20’s. Seriously. They weren’t horrible, but knowing what I know now there is no way in hell I would go back and relive those years. With age comes wisdom, better self esteem, more confidence, and more money. I can’t wait until I get 50 and 60 and 70! Being in this space at 43, I can’t wait to experience all that life has to offer at 53. Do you know how much can happen in 10 years? A lot happens in 30 days. I am just brimming with excitement and anticipation for what is waiting for me around the corner.

Below I’ve listed some tips for you on how to mature gracefully.

  1. Don’t repeat mistakes. The whole purpose of living is to learn lessons. We all make mistakes and will continue to do so, but hopefully the big mistakes are fewer and farther in between. The more you learn from your mistakes and understand that life is one big classroom for learning, the better off you’ll be.
  2. Don’t try to be something you’re not. If you are 50, dress your age and more appropriately, your body type. Dressing your body type really applies to all ages. Like I said earlier, there is nothing wrong with learning new things, staying current in relevant topics, and keeping up your energy levels, but there is no need to hang out where 20 year olds hang out, listen to their music, and dress like them. This is not all inclusive. You may like a hip hop song or some youthful piece of clothing but your whole wardrobe or music collection shouldn’t be such. You’ve grown up…remember? A 50 year old that is still trying to live like they are 20 is a waste of 30 years.
  3. Stay healthy. If you take care of yourself, that will take care of looking youthful all on it’s own. There will be no need for medicines, potions, lotions or creams. Eat whole foods that grow out of the ground, drink plenty of water (at least 64 oz./day), get plenty of rest each day, stay positive, and keep your mind stimulated by reading, doing word puzzles or taking classes. These things will guarantee you youthful vitality.

Tell me how you feel about maturing? Are you scared? Stressed? Worried? Explain to me why. Do you think you can alleviate these worries by doing something differently?

-CB

4 thoughts on “Age Ain’t Nothin’ But a Number

  1. The only thing I worry about is not accomplishing what I hope to accomplish by various milestones. I’m definitely not where I thought I’d be by 31. Other than that, I welcome maturation. And I especially like looking younger than I am but having the wisdom of my experiences. 🙂

    • Yeah, life is funny like that! We make all of these plans only to be derailed. I would’ve never imagined that I’d be where I am today. This certainly wasn’t in my plans. But, the thing about plans and life is you never know where a “detour” may lead. In the end, it may turn out to be even greater than your original plans!

  2. I was just talking to a friend who is turning 50 and she remembered when I said she was old when she was 28 and I was 19. We laugh now because I don’t feel old at 41, I feel great. And like you I would not want to relive my 20s or 30s….I feel like I’m me now…if that make sense. Looking forward to the next ten years.

  3. Hello Everyone. I have turned 40 eight months ago and will be 41 in four months. When I turned 40, I embraced it. I found myself having little quiet moments. Whether it was in the car, walking, doing house chores, or etc., I would hear little whispers from within reassuring me that a lot of things happen in life and it’s ok. Often times we have our anxiety moments; feeling that what we want is a mandatory need. But those little whispers from within reminds us that everything will be ok and not to worry.

Leave a Reply

