Living In This World

I feel rejuvenated! Lately, I’ve been feeling kind of lost. Not totally lost…I’m a long way from when I started this journey but there are days when I don’t feel like I’m doing all that I need to. Maybe I’m too hard on myself, but I don’t feel like I have the luxury of taking a day off when it comes to learning and growing. If I look at the frequency of my blog updates and when I feel “lost” then I can pinpoint it to the last few weeks when I haven’t been posting as much and definitely when I went on vacation. This tells me a few things:

  1. Even if I don’t do everything everyday, I need to have a few things that remain constant.
  2. I need to write in my blog more frequently. It helps keep me grounded, but it also reinforces my learning because what I learn, I share. In order to share, I have to keep learning.
  3. Keep reading the motivational books, blogs, articles, etc.
  4. Limit television! I cannot emphasize this enough.
  5. Don’t get caught up in “the world”.

Let me explain #5 a bit more. Those that grew up in church have been told that “we are in this world, but not of this world”. I don’t agree with the hardcore church people that feel you have to shun everything worldly and live like it’s 1813 instead of 2013.  I feel like the phrase is telling us not to get caught up in the trivial things (of this world) even if we have to live in it. It doesn’t have to consume us. We don’t have to forget our real purpose for being here even though there are so many distractions out there.

In this era, it is extremely easy to get caught up in meaningless things: The royal baby, the Kardashians, what people are wearing or not, celebrities, someones race, how you feel someone should be living, angry birds and all of those addictive phone games, and much more. None of that stuff is contributing one iota to your growth on Earth. We (America) reward bad behavior with high salaries and magazine covers. We play into Ego so much that we can’t hear our Spirit. What may have started off innocently enough as curiosity, or a way to pass time, has now turned into a robotic, petty, mundane, life.

But, life wasn’t meant to be lived like that. We weren’t created to live mundane lives, vegetating in front of televisions, not using our minds. We were created to live passionate, loving, adventurous lives. We weren’t created to idolize other human beings like celebrities, kings, queens, and even popes. We are all created equal. No one is more blessed or worthy than another. We weren’t created to envy, covet or be jealous of others and compare ourselves to others. Each of us is unique with unique talents and abilities to contribute to the world. Once we realize this, the world will be a better place.

-CB

One thought on “Living In This World

Leave a Reply

