Recipe: Summer Salad

cropped saladI feel kind of funny posting a salad recipe because to me, a salad is so easy it doesn’t require a recipe. But salads are my specialty. And my mom would say that just because it comes easy to you, that doesn’t make it true for someone else. I can whip up any kind based on whatever is in the fridge. Side salad, fruit salad, pasta salad, main course salad, you name it! Some people think a salad is iceberg lettuce and some vegetables. Well, that is one kind of salad but a salad can be so much more! Once you realize the many types and combinations of salads you can make, you may start to eat more.  I love salads!

Ingredients:

(I will list what I used and in parenthesis give you alternate options. The great thing about salads is that you can mix and match as you choose.)

  • Mixed lettuce greens (You can also use Romaine, Green leaf or Butter lettuce)
  • Blueberries (Strawberries can also be used)
  • Grapes
  • Walnuts
  • Almonds
  • Sunflower Seeds (Any seed will do. You can try pumpkin seeds.)
  • Herbed Goat Cheese (You can use Feta cheese or Blue cheese instead)
  • I didn’t use them but dried cranberries or raisins will work well too.
  • A raspberry vinaigrette complements this nicely but use whatever you like or nothing at all.

Directions:

  1. I won’t insult your intelligence by putting the directions. But, I’ll give you a tip if you want to serve it at a function.
  2. Set aside a handful of each of the toppings (berries, nuts, seeds, cheese).
  3. Mix your lettuce and remaining toppings in a bowl so that everything is integrated. Transfer to a serving bowl.
  4. In the serving bowl, carefully arrange the berries, nuts and cheese so that they are presentable and people know exactly what’s in the salad. It will also look picture worthy!

20130805_140244

-CB