3-Week Detox

zenI decided to start my detox again on Monday. Coincidentally, or rather “in the right time”, I also received an email invitation from Deepak Chopra to begin a 15-Step Healing Rhythms Program where they will teach you to “learn breathing and mindfulness techniques that will help you to quiet your mind, release physical tension and enrich the most important relationships in your life.” This combined with the detox should help me get centered.

I’ve been struggling with making the time each morning to meditate. I realize that when I don’t, I’m struggling making the time for the other things that I set out to do each morning — journal, exercise, etc. Part of the struggle is that I’ve been going to bed late which means getting up late. Getting up late means trying to do more in less time so I cut myself out. Well, I can’t do this any longer. I’m working from home so what’s the problem??? This must be why they say that even if you work from home you need to stick to a schedule. I’m hoping this will jump start me to daily meditation sessions.

When I did the Oprah/Deepak 21-day Meditation Challenge, I actually looked forward to receiving an email every morning that linked me over to a fully guided meditation. Afterwards, I would journal. That really made a big difference. It was like meditation and journal writing 101. It gave me a great baseline to start doing it on my own. On the 22nd day there was actually a bonus meditation and on the 23rd day, I was lost! I tried to do it on my own, but found it difficult. I could journal fine, but the meditating part was still not 100% comfortable to me. I think it would’ve helped had I at least had the soothing music in the background. Well, now I’ll be better prepared and after this 15 days is over I will have a plan in place. I’ll also start utilizing the templates I made earlier in this experiment and see how those work.

The detox I’ll be doing is the one I mentioned in another post, Lose Weight Without Working Out. It is a vegan diet that doesn’t allow for white carbs so even though rice and pasta are vegan foods, I would have to do brown rice and whole wheat or spinach pasta. This is all fine by me as I don’t eat white carbs anyway except the occasional white potato. I think I’ll also be transitioning to becoming a vegetarian. Really, more vegan than vegetarian because I don’t really do dairy too much, but there will be times when I will so I won’t say vegan.

I won’t say that immediately after the 3-weeks, I’m going to be a vegetarian but I’m definitely leaning that way. I’ve been cutting back on meat already and when I have it, it doesn’t give me great joy or anything. I feel that I can do without. I’ll really see during the detox. Whenever you are dieting, that’s when you crave what you can’t have. Of course, I can always go back and watch those eye-opening food documentaries to keep me focused: Vegucated, Forks Over Knives and Food, Inc. [Side note: I love food documentaries, so if you have suggestions send them my way!]

So, as usual I will keep you posted. If you’d like to sign up for the 15-day healing program here is a link: http://www.mentorschannel.com/bestsellers/LandingPage.aspx?BookId=177.  Let me know if you sign up and keep me apprised of your progress. Remember, accountability will keep you more motivated.

-CB

Image courtesy of Dan/FreeDigitalPhotos.net